December 19–The Love of Advent

I love Christmas!

You probably have predicted now that I’m a Christmas-aholic.  Well, you’re correct!

I have a close friend, who was raised in a very stoic environment concerning Christmas.  No decorations, no carols, no tree, no packages.  Not because of economy – but because of his family’s very strong conviction about doing only what was “Christian.”

No two friends could ever be further apart.  I happen to believe there is no way to over-emphasize Christmas.  Every day of waiting in the season is magical.  There aren’t enough lights to adequately express the light of the world.  The more decorations, the merrier.  The more fun, the more holy.  I believe I could probably sing Christmas carols for 12 months, and it wouldn’t seem unnatural.

During our ensuing friendship, I’ve started noticing that some Christmas has rubbed off on him.  He puts up a tree, his family exchanges gifts, and I even heard him listening to a Christmas CD this week! 

To be honest, I started thinking about my obsession with Christmas, and thinking about “over-emphasizing” the season.  I started thinking about that word “Love,” comparing it with the unconditional, unending, and overwhelming sense of God’s love.  Last year, I started feeling guilty about my Christmas revelry.  Maybe I need to put up fewer lights.  Maybe tone things down a bit.

Then, the week before Christmas last year, my friend was introducing me to one of his friends.  “This is my friend, Larry,” he said.  “He has shown me how to love Christmas, and in so doing, to love God more.”

I’m putting up more lights this year.  I love God/Christmas!

Larry Landusky—Pyrexia  

Leave a comment